Tractor of the Year Awards announced

10 Nov , 2016  

The Case IH Optum 300 CVX has been voted international ‘Tractor of the Year 2017’ award winner, chosen from a shortlist of seven models assessed by an independent jury of 25 specialist agricultural equipment journalists.

The seven models from which the winner was chosen were:

Fendt 516 Vario
Case IH Optum 300 CVX
Deutz-Fahr 6215 RCshift
Steyr 4145 Profi CVT
Massey Ferguson 67185
McCormick X8.680 VT-Drive
Zetor Forterra HD 140

Noteworthy amongst them was the Zetor Forterra HD, the first occasion in the 70 years history of the Czech tractor maker that one of their models made it into the final shortlist.

In other categories, the Deutz-Fahr 6215 RCshift took the award in the ‘Best Design’ category.  In two other categories – Best Utility and Best of Specialised – winners were the New Holland TS.120 and the Antonio Carraro Tony 9800 TR respectively.

Held annually since 1998, the international award is decided by writers from 23 European countries, including Ireland. In allocating their awards, jury members evaluate each machine, emphasising technical aspects, design ergonomics, quality of the machine, and performance in actual working conditions.

The awards ceremony was held during the recent EIMA International Agricultural Exhibition in Bologna, Italy.